Coronavirus Policy - Click here for updates

Toronto Maple Leafs Information

The Toronto Maple Leafs are an "Original Six" NHL team founded in 1917. They currently hold an estimated worth of $520 million. This makes the Leafs NHL's most valuable, followed by the New York Rangers and the Montreal Canadiens.

The Leafs have won 13 Stanley Cup Championships which is second only to the twenty-four championships of their main rival, the Montreal Canadiens. They have not won a championship since 1967. This 45-year drought is currently the longest in NHL history. The team is the only "Original Six" team that hasn't won the Stanley Cup since then. Despite their successful history, The Maple Leafs have not even made the playoffs since the 2003-04 season.

In 2009, they finished at the bottom of the Northeast division with a 34-35-13 record. New GM Brian Burke has attempted to revamp the team since he was hired in November of 2008. They placed second to last in the division in 2010. The team, led by Phil Kessel, Joffrey Lupel, and Mikhail Grabovski, did not qualify for the playoffs in 2011 or 2012 either, finishing 4th in the Northeast both times.

Image by Flickr user RoninKengo