Coronavirus Policy - Click here for updates

Michigan State Spartans Information

The Spartans represent the varsity athletic programs for Michigan State University, who compete in the NCAA division 1 Big Ten Conference. The University offers 11 athletic teams for men and 12 for women. Premier sports include men's basketball, football, and hockey.

The men's football program won three National championships in 1952, 1965, and 1966. They also earned Rose Bowl victories in 1954, 1956, and 1988. The basketball team claimed NCAA National Championships in 1979 and 2000. Spartans hockey (who competes separately in the Central Collegiate Hockey Association) has won four national titles in their history. The Green and White Spartans rally behind their mascot Sparty for all home games.