Coronavirus Policy - Click here for updates

Arizona Diamondbacks Information

The Arizona Diamondbacks played their first game in 1998 at Bank One Ballpark, which was later renamed Chase Field. In the team's first five seasons, the Diamondbacks won three division titles and one World Series. After a disappointing 2000 season, the Diamondbacks fired manager Buck Showalter. Led by two of the most dominant pitchers of all-time, Randy Johnson and Curt Schilling, the Diamondbacks defeated the New York Yankees in the World Series to become the youngest expansion franchise to win it all.

In 2004, despite Randy Johnson pitching a perfect game, the team finished with just 51 wins, the worst in baseball. Following the 2004 season, the Diamondbacks made several moves in an attempt to beef up the team. They acquired Javier Vasquez, Brad Halsey, and Shawn Green. In addition, the team signed Troy Glaus and Royce Clayton, among others.

In 2008, Arizona fought hard through the regular season, finishing two games behind the Los Angeles Dodgers in the NL West. They concluded the year at 82-80, failing to capture the division or wild card. The D-Backs failed to improve in the standings after posting just 70 wins in 2009.

The Diamondbacks came in last place in 2010 at 65-97, falling far behind the rest of the NL West, but in 2011 had a stellar comeback year, placing first in the division with a 94-68 record. They lost in the first round of the playoffs to the Brewers, but with a young, talented team, they are in a good position for a repeat performance in 2012.